SMG’s Wishlist: My Size Barbie

By Melva N. Lloyd

Image courtesy of http://www.walmart.com

Now that I’m older, Christmas seems to fly by, and I can’t even remember the last time I presented my father with a wish list.  But as a kid growing up in the 90s, I was obsessed with two main things: Barney and Barbie; and Barbie trumped everything.

I wanted any and everything that had to do with Mattel’s most prized possession.  Barbie’s dream house, Barbie and Ken, Skipper…you name it, I had it (but of course, my mother wanted to make sure the dolls “looked like me” so there was no confusion).

So when My Size Barbie hit the shelves when I was about six years old, that jumped right to the top my Christmas list.  I had to have it, what little girl wouldn’t want a doll that could double as her perfect playmate?  She was three feet tall and I could walk hand-in-hand with her just about anywhere.  But more importantly, I could wear her clothes; playing dress-up would  never be the same.

Over the years, Barbie has gone through a series of transformations.  I recently found out that Barbie even has a lower back tattoo of Ken’s name within a heart.  A tramp stamp Barbie?  Really?  These days, Christmas lists consist of digital cameras, iPods and cell phones; and that’s just what the kids want.  What happened to the days when Power Rangers and Sesame Street reigned supreme?  “…some days I sit and wish I was a kid again.”

1 Comment

  1. I wanted this doll when I was younger so bad, but they didnt make african american ones back then, now I collect the fashion collectible barbies lol


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

